2.The Promise

By Ann Weisgarber

Rating:  4 out of 5

This is my first book club book of the new year.  I haven’t finished The Hammer of God yet, but I want to get started on this book now.

Back of the book:

1900.  Young pianist Catherine Wainwright flees the fashionable town of Dayton, Ohio, in the wake of a terrible scandal.  Heartbroken and facing destitution, she finds herself striking up correspondence with a childhood admirer, the recently widowed Oscar Williams.  In desperation, she agrees to marry him, but when Catherine travels to Oscar’s farm on Galveston Island, Texas, she find she is little prepared for the life that awaits her.  The island is remote, the weather sweltering, and Oscar’s little boy Andre is grieving hard for his lost mother.  And though Oscar tries to please his new wife, the secrets of the past sit uncomfortably between them.  Meanwhile for Nan Ogden, Oscar’s housekeeper, Catherine’s sudden arrival has come as a great shock.  For she has feelings for Oscar that she is struggling to suppress.  When the worst storm in a generation descends, the women will find themselves tested as never before.

1/5/16

Catharine is starting to get on my nerves.  She needs to get over herself.  The book holds the attention and is a fast read.

1/6/16

The book is sucking me in.  Catharine is easing up,  I’m getting to know the characters better, and I know The Storm of the Century is coming up.  I don’t want a really sad ending, but I’ve read about the 1900 hurricane before.  It did not have a happy ending.  On that topic, I recommend Isaac’s Storm.

Now, Catherine has made a total about face.  Not very realistic.

I really like the writing on the top 2/3 of page 227.  Well done.

I’ve finished the book now.  Hard to give my full opinion without giving away the story.  I’ve probably never said this about a book before, but this is a book that could have been longer.  I think there was more story that could have been told.  Also, it was really two stories I think.  It was the story of Catharine, Oscar, and Nan, and it was a story of the 1900 Galveston Hurricane.  It was as if the hurricane story was just tacked on the end of the other story.  Don’t get me wrong, though, it was a good story.  It was hard to put down after chapter 11, after page 202, and, in fact, I did not put it down after that.

I rate it 4 out of 5.  (I give most books a 3.5, because I think most books are average.  A book has to be outstanding to get a 5 from me.)

Buy this book from Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

